Sectional Navigation

Alabama Dept. of Archives & History

P.O. Box 300100 / 624 Washington Ave.

Montgomery, AL 36130



All Counties

Connect with us on:
Connect with us on Facebook.

Alabama Counties Alphabetical Listing


County County Seat Created Formed From County
Autauga County Prattville 1818 Montgomery County Adoptable
Baldwin County Bay Minette 1809 Washington County and West Florida Adoptable
Barbour County Clayton 1832 Pike County Adoptable
Bibb County Centreville 1818 Montgomery County (as Cahawba County) Adoptable
Blount County Oneonta 1818 Montgomery County and Indian territories Adoptable
Bullock County Union Springs 1866 Barbour, Macon, Montgomery, and Pike counties Adoptable
Butler County Greenville 1819 Conecuh and Monroe counties Adoptable
Calhoun County Anniston 1832 St. Clair County (as Benton County) Adoptable
Chambers County LaFayette 1832 Montgomery County Adoptable
Cherokee County Centre 1836 Cherokee territory Adoptable
Chilton County Clanton 1868 Autauga, Bibb, Perry, and Shelby counties (as Baker County) Adoptable
Choctaw County Butler 1847 Sumter and Washington counties Adoptable
Clarke County Grove Hill 1812 Washington County Adoptable
Clay County Ashland 1866 Randolph and Talladega counties Adoptable
Cleburne County Heflin 1866 Calhoun, Randolph, and Talladega counties Adoptable
Coffee County Elba and Enterprise 1841 Dale County Adoptable
Colbert County Tuscumbia 1867 Franklin County Adoptable
Conecuh County Evergreen 1818 Monroe County Adoptable
Coosa County Rockford 1832 Montgomery County Adoptable
Covington County Andalusia 1821 Henry County Adoptable
Crenshaw County Luverne 1866 Butler, Coffee, Covington, Lowndes, and Pike Counties Adoptable
Cullman County Cullman 1877 Blount, Morgan, and Winston counties Adoptable
Dale County Ozark 1824 Covington and Henry counties Adoptable
Dallas County Selma 1818 Monroe and Montgomery counties Adoptable
DeKalb County Fort Payne 1836 Cherokee territory Adoptable
Elmore County Wetumpka 1866 Autauga, Coosa, Montgomery, and Tallapoosa counties Adoptable
Escambia County Brewton 1868 Baldwin and Conecuh counties Adoptable
Etowah County Gadsden 1866 Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, DeKalb, Marshall, and St. Clair counties (as Baine County) Adoptable
Fayette County Fayette 1824 Marion, Pickens, Tuscaloosa, and Walker counties Adoptable
Franklin County Russellville 1818 Cherokee territory Adoptable
Geneva County Geneva 1868 Coffee, Dale, and Henry counties Adoptable
Greene County Eutaw 1819 Marengo and Tuscaloosa counties Adoptable
Hale County Greensboro 1867 Greene, Marengo, Perry, and Tuscaloosa counties Adoptable
Henry County Abbeville 1819 Conecuh County Adoptable
Houston County Dothan 1903 Dale, Geneva, and Henry counties Adoptable
Jackson County Scottsboro 1819 Cherokee territory Adoptable
Jefferson County Birmingham 1819 Blount County Adoptable
Lamar County Vernon 1867 Fayette and Marion counties (as Jones County) Adoptable
Lauderdale County Florence 1818 Cherokee and Chickasaw territories Adoptable
Lawrence County Moulton 1818 Cherokee territory Adoptable
Lee County Opelika 1866 Chambers, Macon, Russell, and Tallapoosa counties Adoptable
Limestone County Athens 1818 Elk and Madison counties Adoptable
Lowndes County Hayneville 1830 Butler, Dallas, and Montgomery counties Adoptable
Macon County Tuskegee 1832 Montgomery County Adoptable
Madison County Huntsville 1808 Cherokee and Chickasaw territories Adoptable
Marengo County Linden 1818 Choctaw territory Adoptable
Marion County Hamilton 1818 Tuscaloosa County Adoptable
Marshall County Guntersville 1836 Blount and Jackson counties and Cherokee territory Adoptable
Mobile County Mobile 1812 Mobile District of West Florida after annexation into Mississippi Territory Adoptable
Monroe County Monroeville 1815 Creek territory Adoptable
Montgomery County Montgomery 1816 Monroe County Adoptable
Morgan County Decatur 1818 Cherokee territory (as Cotaco County) Adoptable
Perry County Marion 1819 Cahawba, Dallas, Marengo, and Tuscaloosa counties Adoptable
Pickens County Carrollton 1820 Tuscaloosa County Adoptable
Pike County Troy 1821 Henry and Montgomery counties Adoptable
Randolph County Wedowee 1832 St. Clair and Shelby counties Adoptable
Russell County Phenix City 1832 Barbour, Bullock, Lee and Macon counties Adoptable
St. Clair County Ashville and Pell City 1818 Shelby County Adoptable
Shelby County Columbiana 1818 Montgomery County Adoptable
Sumter County Livingston 1832 Choctaw territory Adoptable
Talladega County Talladega 1832 St. Clair and Shelby counties Adoptable
Tallapoosa County Dadeville 1832 Montgomery and Shelby counties Adoptable
Tuscaloosa County Tuscaloosa 1818 Montgomery County and Choctaw territory Adoptable
Walker County Jasper 1823 Blount, Jefferson, and Tuscaloosa counties Adoptable
Washington County Chatom 1800 Adams and Pickering counties of Mississippi Territory Adoptable
Wilcox County Camden 1819 Dallas and Monroe counties Adoptable
Winston County Double Springs 1850 Walker County (as Hancock County) Adoptable