Sectional Navigation

Alabama Dept. of Archives & History

P.O. Box 300100 / 624 Washington Ave.

Montgomery, AL 36130



All Counties

Connect with us on:
Connect with us on Facebook.

Alabama Counties Listing by Year of Formation


County County Seat Created County
Washington County Chatom 1800 Adoptable
Madison County Huntsville 1808 Adoptable
Baldwin County Bay Minette 1809 Adoptable
Clarke County Grove Hill 1812 Adoptable
Mobile County Mobile 1812 Adoptable
Monroe County Monroeville 1815 Adoptable
Montgomery County Montgomery 1816 Adoptable
Autauga County Prattville 1818 Adoptable
Bibb County Centreville 1818 Adoptable
Blount County Oneonta 1818 Adoptable
Conecuh County Evergreen 1818 Adoptable
Dallas County Selma 1818 Adoptable
Franklin County Russellville 1818 Adoptable
Lauderdale County Florence 1818 Adoptable
Lawrence County Moulton 1818 Adoptable
Limestone County Athens 1818 Adoptable
Marengo County Linden 1818 Adoptable
Marion County Hamilton 1818 Adoptable
Morgan County Decatur 1818 Adoptable
St. Clair County Ashville and Pell City 1818 Adoptable
Shelby County Columbiana 1818 Adoptable
Tuscaloosa County Tuscaloosa 1818 Adoptable
Butler County Greenville 1819 Adoptable
Greene County Eutaw 1819 Adoptable
Henry County Abbeville 1819 Adoptable
Jackson County Scottsboro 1819 Adoptable
Jefferson County Birmingham 1819 Adoptable
Perry County Marion 1819 Adoptable
Wilcox County Camden 1819 Adoptable
Pickens County Carrollton 1820 Adoptable
Covington County Andalusia 1821 Adoptable
Pike County Troy 1821 Adoptable
Walker County Jasper 1823 Adoptable
Dale County Ozark 1824 Adoptable
Fayette County Fayette 1824 Adoptable
Lowndes County Hayneville 1830 Adoptable
Barbour County Clayton 1832 Adoptable
Calhoun County Anniston 1832 Adoptable
Chambers County LaFayette 1832 Adoptable
Coosa County Rockford 1832 Adoptable
Macon County Tuskegee 1832 Adoptable
Randolph County Wedowee 1832 Adoptable
Russell County Phenix City 1832 Adoptable
Sumter County Livingston 1832 Adoptable
Talladega County Talladega 1832 Adoptable
Tallapoosa County Dadeville 1832 Adoptable
Cherokee County Centre 1836 Adoptable
DeKalb County Fort Payne 1836 Adoptable
Marshall County Guntersville 1836 Adoptable
Coffee County Elba and Enterprise 1841 Adoptable
Choctaw County Butler 1847 Adoptable
Winston County Double Springs 1850 Adoptable
Bullock County Union Springs 1866 Adoptable
Clay County Ashland 1866 Adoptable
Cleburne County Heflin 1866 Adoptable
Crenshaw County Luverne 1866 Adoptable
Elmore County Wetumpka 1866 Adoptable
Etowah County Gadsden 1866 Adoptable
Lee County Opelika 1866 Adoptable
Colbert County Tuscumbia 1867 Adoptable
Hale County Greensboro 1867 Adoptable
Lamar County Vernon 1867 Adoptable
Chilton County Clanton 1868 Adoptable
Escambia County Brewton 1868 Adoptable
Geneva County Geneva 1868 Adoptable
Cullman County Cullman 1877 Adoptable
Houston County Dothan 1903 Adoptable